Home > Uncategorized > Andriod Speedometer Application

Andriod Speedometer Application

Since I got my new phone set up in February, I’ve been playing with a lot of the Android applications and I’ve found a few that stand out from the rest.

Of course there’s the Pandora Radio application, which recently entertained me all the way to Philadelphia.  You should also check out Foursquare, an app that has turned mundane errands into a bragging rights competition.

While those are neat, neither has impressed me as much as the Speedometer application.  I downloaded this little gem on the ski slopes one day to see how fast I was actually going (56 mph if you’re wondering) and have loved it ever since.

But don’t let the name fool you.  Speedometer is much more than just the simple gage on your dashboard.

This application is a full-blown GPS with all of the bells and whistles.  It automatically charts your elevation and speed and places your tracks directly on Google Maps for reference.

With all of your track information, the application also gives you exact calculations for average speed, pace, distance, altitude and duration just to name a few.

The thing that blew me away was the accuracy that was available using my phone as a GPS.  I never thought my phone would be able to rival an actual GPS, but in my opinion, it definitely does.

One tool I haven’t explored yet is the upload tool.  It allows you to upload your tracks to your computer which gives you the ability to compare and chart progress.

The amount of features packed into this application is pretty impressive and I would definitely recommend it to other Andriod users.

Courtesy of SportsTrackLive

Courtesy of SportsTrackLive

Courtesy of SportsTrackLive

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

