Home > Uncategorized > My interactive woes

My interactive woes

I took the plunge and bought a truly interactive phone.  This afternoon I made my way to Best Buy and purchased a shiny new HTC Hero with all of the capability to connect me to the rest of the world.

So how does it feel?  I’m completely frustrated.

Transferring data from a Blackberry to a Macbook to the Hero isn’t anything to take lightly.  This has evolved from a quick afternoon activity into an evening long struggle.  I’m getting closer but there’s still plenty of work to do.

The compatibility issues between Macs and Blackberrys are well documented and I’m used to the “fun.”  So far, most of my problems have come from this mismatch.

I had downloaded a program when I first got the phone for $40 so I could sync my contacts and calendar.  Now it seems, is an inopportune time for this program to work.

So, as a result, half of my contacts are on my new phone and the other half is… well I’m not sure where the other half is.  I’ll keep you updated.

I’ve just begun transferring all of my information from Google onto the Hero which isn’t quite as straightforward as they would like you to believe either.

So what are the true costs of being connected?  Right now I’m wondering if it’s not just a scam to get us to call IT professionals in defeat.

I can’t wait until my phone is ready to go but until then I just need to remember to take deep breaths.

  1. February 1, 2010 at 5:05 am

    I may take a lot of time to transfer your info to your new phone, but it will be worth it. I have a blackberry and I can do almost anything from this thing. I also have a MAC, but I have transferred my data from my PC yet. Most of the people I have talked to who have dealt with the problem you are were frustrated too.

    It’s always tough to convert data from the PC version to a mac, but it’s worth it. MACs are so much easier to use and now-a-days there are more and more programs that work with MACs. It will be worth it in the long run.

  1. March 18, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Leave a Reply

