Home > Assignments, Helmets > Helmet head isn’t cool

Helmet head isn’t cool

It seems like a simple subject – helmets.  They’re pretty straightforward.  You put them on your head and then your head isn’t the first thing to break when you fall.

So why is there so much controversy around them?

I’ve run into a few stories that have brought the helmet debate to mind and thought I’d share.

First we have what seems like a movement towards progress… but not so fast.

The California legislature (known for their laid back, indifferent approach to lawmaking) has introduced a bill which will make wearing a helmet at a ski resort mandatory for all minors and employees.  People are afraid that this will turn into a trend and laws like this will sprout up across the country (I blame the helmet lobby!) but I ask, why would that be so bad?

This also leads me to my next question… why aren’t ski resorts requiring use of helmets in the first place?  Food for thought.

The next story I ran into looks at how uncool helmets are in the first place.  Apparently, they’re so uncool that kids don’t even want to ride their bikes any more.  There has been a 4-5 percent drop in “bicycling participation” since the enactment of bicycle helmet laws.

I think it’s extremely unfortunate that more kids aren’t getting the opportunity to get outside and ride.  On the contrary, I think it’s great that the majority of the kids who are riding are doing it safely.

It sounds like we’re in health class, but it’s better not to do it at all than to be unsafe about it.

With all of the evidence supporting helmets, it’s hard for me to fathom not wearing them.  Not convinced I’m right?

You’re sharing the roads with these guys

  1. January 29, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    As a cyclist, it’s weird, I personally love riding without my helmet. I like the way it feels and my helmet looks super lame. (If anyone has seen me around campus knows what I’m talkin’bout)

    However, I wear my helmet because I’m due for a crash any day now and I don’t want to end up in a vegetative state. I don’t really get the whole ski helmet thing, though. I’ve never eaten it hard enough that made me think to consider a helmet. I think there needs to be some kind of campaign to make everyone wear helmets, or at least design super hip helmets. Who knows?

    I wear my helmet out of necessity, I like my blood in my head.

  2. January 29, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    I totally understand the conflict of wearing a helmet but I just think it’s a little irrational not to.

    That being said, I still sometimes find myself without one on even though I know it’s a bad idea. What I can’t fathom is not advocating helmet laws especially for minors.

    And with the skiing helmets, I’ve never been unlucky enough to need one either but I have watched a friend ride away on a ski patrol snowmobile with a concussion before. That’s what convinced me.

  3. February 1, 2010 at 7:44 am

    I have to say, Whats the big deal with wearing a helmet , it WILL save your life

    in reguards to ski resorts, i completely agree that helmets should be requred for certain individuals. I mean look at the celebrities alone that have died or been greatly injured from skiing accidents.

    Natasha Richardson
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/19/us/19richardson.html,

    Sonny Bono
    http://www.cnn.com/US/9801/06/bono.accident/

    Michael Kennedy
    http://www.cnn.com/US/9712/31/kennedy.update.2/

    And these are just some celebrities, skiing injuries are surprisingly prominent
    http://www.ibiblio.org/spite/bile/ski.html

    In regards to children and helmets, maybe it would help if kids thought like i did when i was 6. Although i realize not to many 6 year olds minds work quite like mine did .

    I always though of my helmet as a sort of accessory. It was pretty and pink and had Disney princesses on it. I was proud to wear it. Sometimes i would even rock the matching knee and elbow pads to show off for my friends.

    So my advice to those embarrassed to focus on safety, is to focus on fashion!!

  1. February 3, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Leave a Reply

